Blogging

Hardcover VS. Softcover Books

good-morningsunshine-2

I am so excited to be doing this post ever since I did Audiobooks VS. Paperbacks, because I found that really fun to write about that. I just have an answer to this, but the answer isn’t definite, so I think it would be interesting to see if that answer will be figured out fully by the end of writing this.

Is it just me, or do you have a certain preference for the texture of a book? This may be weird, but I find it that some covers of books simply bother me when I am reading then, so I have a hard time paying attention to the book.

So why not talk about them? Because everyone has to have a preference for the texture of their books, I find that the different ways make it easier to read the book.
This to me is important because it just defines the way you like books. It’s not that I won’t read books that are soft covers that are good, but it won’t be as comfortable and easy for me as reading a hardcover book would be. And to further explain, hardcover books are more heavier because the thickness of the cover helps it gain weight, so the book is able to lie down on a flat surface easier on it spine.

But when you are reading from a book with a soft cover, the book is not usually able to hold itself up, so you are most likely having to hold the book with your hand while you read, and that’s fine. But I just find that a pain when it’s nearing night and you want to have some nighttime reading before you go to bed, and having to do the extra work of holding the book to me is just irritating.

Also, hardcover books just have a nice clean feel to them because the covers don’t bend when you accidentally place a heavy object over the folded part of the them. The hardcovers just stay.. hard. It’s just nice to know that your book won’t be looking old anytime soon!

But to make sure my decision was up to date, I got a hardcover book that I have read before and re-read it, and got a soft cover book and re-read it as well.

And it found that I do like hardcover books more, because it really irritated me each day when I went back to read the softcover book and that the spine was bent, so the cover of the book had naturally just been lying up in the air. So I just kept pushing the cover down, and it would come back up and ARGHH. It was annoying.

Then when I went to re-read the hardcover book, and it didn’t irritate me. It bothered me at times when the page would just randomly go back because I was at the awkward part of the page stage of the book, but overall I found it really good!

img_1752

Thank you for reading, and what do you prefer? Do you prefer the hardcovers or the soft covers, tell me because I would love to know! Or do you just not have a preference at all, because that is probably good if you always read a mix between the cover types and have gotten used to it.

Well, until next time,

img_0101-1

Miss Dino, The Dinosaur Enthusiast.

 

6 thoughts on “Hardcover VS. Softcover Books

  1. I have been surfing on-line more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article
    like yours. It is lovely value enough for me.
    In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content as you did, the internet will be much more helpful than ever before.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I take so much time and preparation on making my blog as well as it’s posts to the highest quality that I can make them. I’m so glad to hear that you like what I do.

      Like

Leave a Reply

