Fashion

Fashion Frenzy: First of All, Sketch!

img_0388-1

The first step to starting anything new is to obviously start at square one. So as I probably haven’t shown you- but I will most definitely showcase- is that I’ve been sketching, and just feeling around to where I am most comfortable in sketching anything. It’s been a small gain of experience, but I think it’s simply just one of the most important things for those starting out.

But I don’t want to sit here and write as if I am a professional as if I am a top-notch fashion designer who is simply giving tips to other people. And I say that because I’m not. I’m only telling you all my experiences as I go on, and maybe just squeeze in some fun into the whole bundle of things. So this may be interesting to you, to have a little insight on the person who wants to be a fashion designer.

With the short amount of weeks, I’ve used some of my time to watch YouTube videos on fashion designing, as well as sketch. And a minimal amount has been used to eat and sleep, but that’s not as fun to describe.

SKETCH!

Don’t worry, just go ahead and sketch. I was in the same position as you, eager to start, but confused on where to start. I get it- just start with sketching. But see, where do you get the inspiration from, what if your ideas were already made? What do you do?

What I think to myself is that there’s usually a reason behind why you want to be pursuing fashion designing. Sometimes the want to do it comes out of thin air, but sometimes, something usually has a tie with fashion designing giving you the want to do it. For me, it’s just anything. When I look at things, I’ll get my creative muse, and then that spark to sketch and make a new design. When I get slightly stressed, you will see me pulling out my sketchbook

When I get slightly stressed, you will see me pulling out my sketchbook starting to sketch a dress from that emotion. Art has always been that for me, so that’s just exactly why I’d turn to it as a “therapist”. And to add to that point, I’ve always been a creative person, I’ve always been one to love to write, and to love to draw. So it makes sense for me to have fashion designing become something that I like, seeing that part of it relates to drawing.

But if you feel confused on where to start, I’d suggest to just simply sketch out an outfit. Get yourself into the creative mood, and once you’re fully into that, then you should just relax and get into it. Don’t look up other people’s sketches onto the Internet- I’ve done that before and it DID NOT help- I know from personal experience that it only just makes you feel as if you aren’t good at all.

Don’t put yourself down, only look things up on the Internet when you are completely sure that it won’t bring you down or make you feel bad. If you’re sure this is something that you like, don’t go around making yourself feel bad. It’s not worth time, or your feelings.

Ha, that last sentence sounded as if I was giving break up advice to someone.

All in all, don’t let anything bring you down. Keep sketching, keep draping, keep doing it all and make yourself happy. I’m not sure if any of you like fashion designing or are into it for the most part. But you never know, this series might just make you like it!

 

How was this post? Are you sketching now? Do you like fashion designing? Do you like this series? If so, what would you like to see from Fashion Frenzy? This series will be fun for me, but I am most definitely sure it can benefit some of you all, so I’d like to get your feedback on what to do.

Until next time…

Miss Dino, The Dinosaur Enthusiast.

 

One thought on “Fashion Frenzy: First of All, Sketch!

Leave a Reply

