Bookish

Bookish Book Times: Over Hyped Books?

img_1747

After binge-watching the old TV show Jane by Design, I think that I’m definitely ready to sit down and do something that is not completely related to anything TV.

I was recently reading a book from the library called The Seventh Son. I’m sure many people have heard of the book, mostly because it’s hyped and whatnot. But, I wasn’t very interested in the book, and I did give it a chance. I read about fifty pages until I realized that I disliked the book, so I put it down and got another book from the library to read.

But moving away from that little area, I’ve realized that not everyone likes those over-hyped books that everyone likes and has read before. In fact, not everyone should have to be boxed into these ideas that you’re supposed to be liking these books that are award-winning and such.

So, after realizing that, here I am. To speak about that exact topic!

If you don’t know what over-hyped books are, I’ll be glad to explain it to you. Over-hyped books are usually the books that are frequently and regularly spoken about amongst people. Basically, it’s the books that everyone reads, even if you aren’t a bookish person you’re probably one to likes those books.

It’s not a stereotype, nor it’s anything rude towards people who dislike reading. I do not mean to point fingers at those who don’t like to read with this small truth for some people. I only say this small fact because I know some people who like to read books that are hyped because of the positive words towards it, but some people like to read anything so this truth can be true in different cases.

I just think books shouldn’t be hyped, but if they are, people should take these things very lightly. Sometimes hyped books are good, and sometimes they’re bad. But I just have a bad feeling whenever I find out a new book that’s currently hyped.

And I get this bad feeling because book hypes just overaccentuate books sometimes, and sometimes just simply too much. Some people write reviews about these books stating that the book is good, and people also can do the opposite. And to me, I just think it’s not fair to some authors who do write amazingly good books, but their books aren’t just being given the recognition that it deserves.

Now don’t get me wrong, I do not think that every book should be hyped because that would be simply one too many for just me to keep up with. I haven’t even read the Mazerunner (sorry to those who love that book), and that book has been known by all for quite a long time. So I just do not think that I could handle every book given the recognition that each book author wants and probably deserves, given that the book is good.

But shouldn’t every book at least be given and applause or a clap? Just anything to thank the author who wrote it, so they at least feel somewhat happy that someone recognized it.

Blah blah blah- it’s too much work. But still, something should let authors know that it was worth it writing that book of theirs. Besides money, of course.

 

What do you think of hyped books? Do you like them- or do you hate them? Do you think that books should be given recognition? What hyped books have you read before? If you have read hyped books before, what were your favorites?

Until next time…

Miss Dino, The Dinosaur Enthusiast.

 

 

One thought on “Bookish Book Times: Over Hyped Books?

Leave a Reply

